Soundtrap and Stop Motion Animator

Tomorrow June 23, 2017, I will be retiring from my position as my district’s Computer Technology Integrator.  It has been a good run.  I intend to keep curating educational websites and I will continue with my blog.  For the time being, I am going to recommend both Soundtrap and Stop Motion Animator.  Soundtrap appears to be much like Apple’s Garage Band.  I haven’t had a lot of time to play on this site but it looks like a great way for students to create their own music for videos, and podcasts, etc.  It is not free but it is somewhat less expensive than WeVideo and I think we have proven the value of that could-based software. As with WeVideo, Soundtrap can be used on Chromebooks. Stop Motion Animator is a Chrome Extension for creating animations using a webcam.  I know some teachers have been experimenting with stop motion videos.  This looks like it simplifies the process.  So that is all for now, but, as I have said, I will continue to post on this blog.  A number of teachers in the district have asked me to continue sending my postings of suggested apps, software, and extensions, etc.   If you would like to be notified of future posts, click on the  “Subscribe by Email”  at the bottom of the blog post.  You can also follow me on Twitter. Thank you for all of those who have worked with me over the past years. I hope I have helped you see the value of using technology to enhance and redefine how we teach.  I have never felt that we should use technology for its own sake.  It’s a tool that allows us to do things we couldn’t do before.  It’s also an integral part of life in the 21st Century.  We need to help our students to use technology wisely and effectively to enhance their lives and lifelong learning.  It has been a privilege to work for the Governor Wentworth Regional School District.

Scoop it Curated Education Sites

Pinterest

Rick Davidson Author

Rick Davidson Technology Sites

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *